Around the County
County History
County Departments
Elected Officials
Board Appointments
Job Openings
County Calendar
Employees Only
Back to the County Homepage

P.O. Box 157
51 South 1st
Cheyenne Wells, CO  80810

Phone: (719) 767-5657
Fax: (719) 767-5540

Office Hours
M-F  8:00 am to 4:00 pm


Gaila Mitchek

County Treasurer & Public Trustee


Jessie Cordell

Deputy Treasurer




Cheyenne County Treasurer

Late Payment/Delinquent Interest Policy

March 23, 2020



Due to policies that have been put into place to help stop the spread of the coronavirus infection, several Cheyenne County residents and Cheyenne County property owners may find it difficult to meet their financial obligation of paying their current 2019 taxes in a timely manner. With Executive Order D 2020 012, Governor Polis authorized the County Treasurers to suspend or waive delinquent interest that may accrue as a result of delinquent tax payments for 30 days.


With the Executive Order given by the Governor allowing me to waive or adjust delinquent penalties, I have at this time, decided to waive any late fees for 1st half payments until April 20th. Second half payments would still be due by June 15th.

This waiver of the first half payment interest does not extend to accounts where the taxes are being remitted by a mortgage company through a taxpayer's escrow account or by a title company as part of a real estate closing.

Unfortunately, you cannot make this 1 st half payment without interest through our online system. Instead, please drop it into the mail at PO Box 157, Cheyenne Wells, Colorado, or drop it in the voter drop off box in the courthouse parking lot.

This Executive Order does not release the property owner from the obligation of paying their property taxes. It simply allows the Treasurer to disregard the interest on delinquent payments for a short amount of time.

Gaila Mitchek

Cheyenne County Treasurer



Notice of Foreclosure 19-01 ( Updated 4/3/20)

Notice of Foreclosure 19-02 (Updated 3/27/20)



Web Payment Link - Click Here

Property Tax Information - Click Here